Who Won Wimbledon First Venus or Serena? What Years Did Venus Williams Win Wimbledon?


Venus Williams and Serena Williams
Venus Williams and Serena Williams (Image Credits: Venus Williams Instagram)

American tennis stars Venus Williams and Serena Williams hold several remarkable records under their names. Significantly, the Williams sisters have won 18 Wimbledon titles, including doubles.

Who Won Wimbledon First Venus or Serena? 

Venus made her main draw debut at Wimbledon in 1997, when she fell in the first round in the three sets. On the other hand, her younger sister Serena Williams reached the third round in her first appearance in 1998. 

However, Venus Williams is the first in the Williams sisters to lift the first Wimbledon title. She won her first Grand Slam and Wimbledon title in 2000. Later on, Serena Williams claimed her maiden Wimbledon title in 2002. 

What Years Did Venus Williams Win Wimbledon?

Venus Williams has won five Wimbledon titles out of the nine final appearances in SW19.  

In 2000,  Venus lifted her first Grand Slam and Wimbledon title after stunning the defending champion Lindsay Davenport, Serena Williams, Martina Hingis, Sabine Appelmans, Nathalie Dechy, Ai Sugiyama, and Kvetoslava Peschke. 

In 2001, Senior Williams secured her title after hammering Justin Henin, Lindsay Davenport, Nathalie Tauziat, Nadia Petrova, Elena Likhovtseva, Daniela Hantuchova, and Shinobu Asagoe.


And In 2005, Williams captured her third Wimbledon title following wins over Lindsay Davenport, Maria Sharapova, Mary Pierce, Jill Craybas, Daniela Hantuchova, Nicole Pratt and Eva Birnerova.

In 2007, Venus lifted her fourth Wimbledon title after defeating Marion Bartoli, Ana Ivanovic, Svetlana Kuznetsova, Maria Sharapova, Akiko Morigami, Hana Sromova and Alla Kudryavtseva.

In 2008, Williams hunted her fifth Wimbledon title after overcoming Serena Williams, Elena Dementieva, Tamarine Tanasugarn, Alisa Kleybanova, Maria Jose Martinez Sanchez, Anne Keothavong and Naomi Cavaday.

Most notably, Venus fell in Wimbledon Championship matches in 2002, 2003, 2009 and 2017.  In the doubles events, Williams sisters won titles in 2000, 2002, 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2016.

Read More – Evonne Goolagong Cawley Wishes Serena Williams Or Any Other Tennis Mom Wants To Win Wimbledon 2021


Leave a Reply