Is Tennis Open In Washington State? Where Is Citi Open?


Citi Open
Citi Open (Image Credits: Citi Open Instagram)

The Washington Open was founded in 1969. It is also known as Citi Open because of Its sponsor CitiBank and is a part of the ATP 500 and WTA events. The US Open Series tournament was held on outdoor clay courts until 1986. Since then, the event has taken place on the outdoor hard courts.

Ahead of the US Open, the Washington Open plays annually at the William H.G.FitzGerald Tennis Center in Rock Creek Park, Washington, D.C.

Inauguration of ATP and WTA Events at Washington Open 

The first men’s tournament was held in 1969. In the championship match, Tomaz Koch, the former tennis professional from Brazil, defeated the former American tennis professional and three-time Grand Slam champion Arthur Ashe in the final five-setters (7-5, 9-7, 4-6, 2-6, 6-4).

The first women’s tournament was held in 2011 at College Park, Maryland. Nadia Petrova, the former Russian professional, beat Shahar Pe’er, the former professional from Israel, in straight sets(7-5, 6-2) in the championship match. 

Who Are The Most Washington Open Title Winners?

In the men’s singles, the former American professional Andre Agassi is the leading title winner at the Citi Open so far. He won titles in 1990, 1991, 1995, 1998, and 1999 in Washington, D.C.  

In the Women’s singles, the former Russian professional Magdalena Rybarikova and her compatriot Svetlana Kuznetsova are leading title winners at the Washington Open. Rybarikova claimed in 2012 and 2013, while Kuznetsova won in 2014 and 2018 in the US capital.

Exciting Facts About Washington Open

In 2012, It was renamed Citi Open, after being known as the Legg Mason Tennis Classic since 1994. 

In 2015, Washington Open was separated from the US Open Series due to tournament broadcasting issues. But, it regrouped in 2019.  

Andre Agassi, Michael Chang, Juan Martin del Potro, Alexander Zverev and Magdalena Rybarikova are the two-time consecutive title winners at William H.G. FitzGerald Tennis Center.

Read More – What is mean by “Laykold”-Why is US Open 2020 implemented?


Leave a Reply