How Many Grand Slam Titles Has Andy Murray Won? How Many Times Has Murray Won Wimbledon? When Did Andy Murray Win Wimbledon?


Andy Murray (Image Credits : Andy Murray Instagram)

Andy Murray is a prominent player in the men’s tennis world for nearly a two-decade. He holds most records in the active players after Big 3 of the men’s game Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, and Novak Djokovic. 

Murray has won 46 singles ATP Tour-level titles, 14 ATP Masters 1000 crowns. Moreover, he has been ranked World  No.1 for 41 weeks in his professional career. British tennis icon also clinched Gold Medals at the 2012 London and 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games.

Looking at the Grand Slam events, Murray played his first-ever Grand Slam match at the 2005 Wimbledon. Therein, a wild card entrant defeated Swiss qualifier George Bastl in straight sets.

How Many Grand Slam Titles Has Andy Murray Won? 

Murray made his maiden Grand Slam final debut at the 2008 US Open. Since then, he has appeared in the five Australian Open finals(2010, 2011, 2013, 2015, and 2016), one French Open final(2016), three Wimbledon finals(2012, 2013, and 2016) and one US Open final(2012). 

Andy Murray has won three Grand Slam titles: 2012 US Open, 2013 and 2016 Wimbledon.

In his fifth major final appearance, Andy Murray claimed his first Grand Slam title at the 2012 US Open. He stunned the defending champion, Novak Djokovic, in the 4 hours and 54 minutes mouth-watering championship match.

Murray also became the first Brit to win a Grand Slam title since Fred Perry, who won his last major title at the 1936 US Open. 

When Did Andy Murray Win Wimbledon?

At his second championship match in the SW 19, Murray won his second Grand Slam title at the 2013 Wimbledon. No.2 seeded lost merely three sets throughout the tournament. A fans favourite defeated Novak Djokovic in straight sets to become the first British to win the Wimbledon singles title since Fred Perry in 1936.

How Many Times Has Murray Won Wimbledon?

After a couple of years of hiatus, Andy Murray captured his third Grand Slam title at the 2016 Wimbledon championship following wins over Milos Raonic, Tomas Berdych, Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, Nick Kyrgios, John Millman, Y-h Lu, and Liam Broady. 

However, Murray has won two singles titles at the Wimbledon championship(2013 and 2016).

Read More – Who Is Daniil Medvedev? What Nationality Is Medvedev? Who Is Daniil Medvedev’s Wife? Who Is Daniil Medvedev Coach?


Leave a Reply